Gibbens, Fox Named to All-Big West Teams

Gibbens, Fox Named to All-Big West Teams

Nov. 12, 2008

2008 All-Big West Conference Teams Get Acrobat Reader

FULLERTON, CA - Cal State Fullerton senior defender Jenae Gibbens was named to the All-Big West Conference First Team while freshman forward Stacey Fox earned honorable mention honors as the 2008 all-conference teams were announced on Wednesday morning.

Gibbens was named to the All-Big West First Team for the second consecutive season, finishing tied for the team lead in scoring with 13 points on three goals and seven assists while starting all 19 matches. All three of her goals were game-winning scores while her seven assists ranked third in the league (and tied for second in school history for a single season) entering the postseason.

A 2008 finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award for her contributions on and off the field (vote for Jenae by clicking here) and a CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District honoree, Gibbens finished her collegiate career with a flourish, scoring a point in seven of the team's final 10 matches, including a pair of assists against Hawaii on Sept. 30.

Fox also finished with 13 points during her rookie season, scoring five times and assisting on three more scores. She scored a career-best two goals in a victory over San Diego State on Sept. 26 and also tallied scores against Saint Mary's, Cal Poly and UC Riverside.

Regular season champion Long Beach State (6) and tournament champion UC Santa Barbara (4) dominated the all-conference first team while seven players were repeat selections from the 2007 all-conference squad. Selected as All-Big West First Team members for the third time in their careers were Kim Silos (Long Beach State), Hayley Bolt (Long Beach State), Carrie Andrews (Cal Poly) and Rachael Ritchey (UC Santa Barbara).

Two-time first team all-conference performers include Genelle Ives (UC Santa Barbara), Tessa Lennala (UC Riverside), Sami Svrcek (UC Santa Barbara) and Gibbens.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|