Wilson Helps FC Gold Pride to WPS Championship

Wilson Helps FC Gold Pride to WPS Championship

Sept. 27, 2010

FULLERTON, CA - Former Cal State Fullerton women's soccer standout Kandace Wilson helped her side to the 2010 Women's Professional Soccer championship on Sunday (Sept. 26), scoring a goal in the first half and adding an assist en route to FC Gold Pride's 4-0 victory over the Philadelphia Independence in Hayward, Calif.

Wilson, who joins Karen Bardsley as former Titans on WPS Championship-winning teams, tallied FC Gold Pride's second goal of the match in the 29th minute - her first career WPS goal after missing most of the 2009 season due to injury. She then assisted on a goal by Marta in stoppage time to cap the scoring.

Bardsley was a goalkeeper for Sky Blue FC in 2009, helping them to the inaugural league title. She started 10 matches and was selected as a starter for the league's All-Star Game in 2010, before an injury suffered in practice for the mid-season event sidelined her for the rest of the season. She finished 5-3-2 in net with 56 saves and a 0.90 goals against average and five shutouts.

Wilson appeared in all 24 matches for FC Gold Pride in 2010, making 15 starts, and helped her team to a 16-3-5 overall record and the league's regular season title - 17 points better in the standings than second-place Boston (36).

A four-year letter winner from 2002-05, Wilson ranks second on the school's all-time list in numerous categories including points (2nd - 82), points per match (3rd - 1.08), goals (2nd - 35), goals per match (3rd - 0.46), game-winning goals (2nd - 12), assists (t9th - 12), and shots (2nd - 206).

An NSCAA All-West Region selection in 2005, Wilson was the Big West Conference's Co-Offensive Player of the Year as a senior and was a three-time all-conference first-team selection.

WPS is the highest level women's professional soccer league in North America. Formed in September 2007 as the result of the efforts of the Women's Soccer Initiative, Inc., WPS, began play on March 29, 2009 and consists of eight teams across the country.

The teams for the 2010 season are the Atlanta Beat, Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Gold Pride (Bay Area), Philadelphia Independence, Sky Blue FC (NJ / NY), Saint Louis Athletica and Washington Freedom.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|