Former Titan Bardsley Named WPS All-Star Starter

Former Titan Bardsley Named WPS All-Star Starter

June 17, 2010

FULLERTON, CA - Former Cal State Fullerton goalkeeper Karen Bardsley was selected as one of 22 starters for the 2010 Women's Professional Soccer All-Star Game presented by the U.S. Coast Guard Reserve on June 30 at KSU Soccer Stadium in Kennesaw, GA.

Bardsley is one of three starters from Sky Blue FC, the league's inaugural champions in 2009, joining teammates Heather O'Reilly and Brittany Taylor. The starting 22 players were selected on ballots from players (25%), coaches (25%), media (25%), and online fan voting (25%). Three more Sky Blue FC players (Tasha Kai, Laura Kalmari, and Christine Rampone) were selected as reserves.

Bardsley has played every minute in net for Sky Blue FC in 2010, posting a 4-3-2 overall record with four shutouts and a 1.00 goals against average (nine goals allowed in 810 minutes). As of June 17, she is tops in shutouts, saves (54), save percentage (.860) while also ranking second in victories and tied for third in the league in GAA.

Sky Blue FC is currently tied with the Philadelphia Independence for third place in the league with 14 points, just five points behind first-place FC Gold Pride

The top two overall vote-getters in the league were forwards Abby Wambach (Washington Freedom) and Marta (FC Gold Pride), making the duo captains for the "Pick `Em" format under which the team selections will be conducted.

Wambach will choose "Abby's XI" with Philadelphia Independence head coach Paul Riley, while Marta will chose "Marta's XI" with FC Gold Pride head coach Albertin Montoya on Monday, June 28th, two days prior to the WPS All-Star Game. The selection of coaches was made from the top two teams in the league standings as of Monday, June 7th.

The 2010 WPS All-Star Game will be televised live on Fox Soccer Channel and regionally on select Fox Sports Net affiliates (check local listings). Game coverage will start at 7:30pm EST on June 30th with a half-hour pregame show.

2010 WPS All-Stars (alphabetical by position): Team Captains
Home Team: Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom
Away Team: Marta, FC Gold Pride

Goalkeepers (2)
Karen Bardsley, Sky Blue FC
Hope Solo, Atlanta Beat

Defenders (6)
Rachel Buehler, FC Gold Pride
Tina Ellertson, Atlanta Beat
Allison Falk, Philadelphia Independence
Amy LePeilbet, Boston Breakers
Brittany Taylor, Sky Blue FC
Cat Whitehill, Washington Freedom

Midfielders (8)
Sonia Bompastor, Washington Freedom
Shannon Boxx, FC Gold Pride
Lori Chalupny, Atlanta Beat
Kristine Lilly, Boston Breakers
Lori Lindsey, Philadelphia Independence
Aya Miyama, N/A (*must be on WPS roster by June 11 or will be replaced by next-highest player)
Heather O'Reilly, Sky Blue FC
Kelly Smith, Boston Breakers

Forwards (6)
Eniola Aluko, Atlanta Beat
Ramona Bachmann, Atlanta Beat
Lauren Cheney, Boston Breakers
Marta, FC Gold Pride
Christine Sinclair, FC Gold Pride
Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|