Mustangs Edge Titans, 18-17

Nov. 28, 2007

Fullerton, Calif. - Cal Poly's Chad Mendes (141) scored a 10-2 major decision over Cal State Fullerton's Teddy Astorga in the second to the last wrestling match of the night to lift the Mustangs to an 18-17 Pac-10 win at Titan Gym Wednesday night.

The Mustangs won each of the first three matches on the night jumping out to an early 10-0 lead, started by Chase Pami's (157) 12-4 major decision in the night's first match. Ryan Williams (165) and Evan Barbre (174) each followed with decisions over Fullerton's Bryan Tice and Ryan Budd, respectively.

The Titans battled back to tie with Wins by Ian Murphy (184), John Drake (197) and heavyweight Wade Sauer. Murphy scored one of the Titans two major decisions on the night, beating Yuri Kalika 8-0. Ranked No. 3 in the country, Sauer outlasted Cal Poly's Jim Powers by a score of 8-2, tying the match at 10-10.

Late addition, Boris Navachkov, followed at the 125 weight class with an 11-1 major decision over Fullerton's Sean Roman-Marin to give Cal Poly the late advantage.

In the most exciting match of the evening, the Titans' T. J. Dillashaw (133) took down Filip Navachkov with 15 seconds remaining in the third period to tie, and earned another point for riding time to capture the 7-6 victory.

Mendes's Major decision then left Fullerton's Morgan Atkinson (149) in a tough spot with Fullerton Trialing by five points at 18-13. Atkinson did earn a major decision with a 12-4 score over Eric Maldanado, but it wasn't enough as the Pac-10's No. 2 team upset the leading Titans by one point.

The Titans' next action will be Friday and Saturday, Nov. 30 and Dec. 1, at the Cliff Keen Invitational in Las Vegas, Nev.

Cal Poly def. Cal State Fullerton, 18-17
157 - Chase Pami (CP) def. Paul Tice (CSF), major dec., 12-4
165 - Ryan Williams (CP) def. Bryan Tice (CSF), dec., 5-3
174 - Evan Barbre (CP) def. Ryan Budd (CSF), dec., 9-4
184 - Ian Murphy (CSF) def. Yuri Kalika (CP), major dec., 8-0
197 - John Drake (CSF) def. Arturo Basulto (CP), decision, 7-4
HVY - Wade Sauer (CSF) def. Jim Powers (CP), decision, 8-2
125 - Boris Navachkov (CP) def. Sean Roman-Marin (CSF), major dec., 11-1
133 - T. J. Dillashaw (CSF) def. Filip Navachkov (CP), decision, 7-6
141 - Chad Mendes (CP) def. Teddy Astorga (CSF), major dec., 10-2
149 - Morgan Atkinson (CSF) def. Eric Maldanado (CP), major dec., 12-4


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|