Numerous Winners Share Basketball Awards

April 11, 2008

Fullerton, Calif. - Perhaps indicative of the balanced attack the team possessed this season, the individual awards presented at the annual Cal State Fullerton men's basketball banquet Monday night at the Fullerton Marriott were spread throughout the roster.

Voting by teammates ended in a three-way tie for Most Valuable Player among Josh Akognon, Scott Cutley and Frank Robinson. And the captains award also was shared among three players -- Cutley, Robinson and Marcus Morgan.

Morgan grabbed the Drew Awad Courage Award, which is named for the former Titan who succumbed to leukemia on Dec. 26, 2005.

The most improved award went to Marcio Lassiter.

The Titans enjoyed the best Div. I record in school history at 24-9. They shared the regular season championship of the Big West Conference and won the post-season tournament to earn the school's first berth in the NCAA Tournament in 30 years.

Six players will graduate -- five in Spring and one in Summer -- in Cutley, Robinson, Morgan, Ray Reed, Andrew Green and Kenneth Alexander.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|

Schedule Click For Full Schedule

Total Slides 1 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 3

Sat Feb 25
9:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Hawai'i
Thu Mar 02
7:00 PM
UC Santa Barbara
at Cal State Fullerton
Sat Mar 04
7:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
No Event
No Event
Previous Next