Pestano a Third-Team Pre-Season All-American

Dec. 27, 2005

Fullerton, Calif. - Cal State Fullerton closer Vinnie Pestano has been named a Louisville Slugger/Collegiate Baseball third-team, Pre-Season All-American as announced by the Tucson, Ariz.-based publication on Tuesday.

Pestano becomes the second Titan to receive the pre-season nod, joining shortstop Blake Davis, who was named to the NCBWA third team last week.

Pestano was third in the Big West Conference in 2005 with 13 saves, just one off the leaders Alex McRobbie (UC Santa Barbara) and Mike Billie (Cal Poly) who each collected 14 apiece. Pestano was second in the conference in appearances, coming into 34 games for the Titans, going 3-4 with a 2.68 ERA.

The side-armed righty used his sweeping slider to fan 49 hitters in 50.1 innings, while holding them to just a .239 batting average in 2005, earning an Honorable Mention by the conference for his performance.

The No. 9 (Collegiate Baseball) Titans kick off the 2006 season on Feb. 3 as they face the No. 25 Stanford Cardinal at Sunken Diamond in Palo Alto, Calif.

ATHLETICS TICKETS

For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|

Schedule Click For Full Schedule

Total Slides 2 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 5

-2
Fri Mar 31
6:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UC Riverside
-2
Sat Apr 01
6:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UC Riverside
-2
Sun Apr 02
1:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UC Riverside
-2
Tue Apr 04
6:00 PM
San Diego
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri Apr 07
7:00 PM
UC Davis
at Cal State Fullerton
TV: ESPN3
-2
Sat Apr 08
1:00 PM
UC Davis
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sun Apr 09
1:00 PM
UC Davis
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Thu Apr 13
6:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at USC
-2
Fri Apr 14
7:00 PM
USC
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sat Apr 15
1:00 PM
USC
at Cal State Fullerton
Previous Next