Colon Suffers Broken Leg With Team USA

July 25, 2009

Prince George, British Columbia - Team USA captain and starting shortstop Christian Colon (Cal State Fullerton) will not be available for Sunday's championship game after suffering two broken bones in his leg Friday night at the 2009 Enbridge Northern Pipeline World Baseball Challenge.

Colon was carried off of the field in the top of the eighth inning of a 1-0 victory against Canada after a hard slide into second base on a converted double play left him wounded.

Colon broke his tibia and fibula in the collision. He has been evaluated and treated by surgeons in Prince George and will receive additional medical treatment upon his return to Southern California, Sunday.

The soon-to-be Titan junior was hitting .362 with a team-leading five home runs, 37 RBI and 24 stolen bases before the injury in the second to the last game for Team USA. His 37 RBI was more than double the second best total on the team. Colon was the only National Team member to play and start in all of USA's games this summer.

Team USA will face the winner of Canada and British Columbia/Germany, Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 4 p.m. (7 p.m. ET) at Prince George Citizen Field. The game will be streamed live online www.worldbaseball.ca.

Release details courtesy of USA Baseball

ATHLETICS TICKETS

For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|

Schedule Click For Full Schedule

Total Slides 2 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 5

-2
Fri Feb 19
6:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Stanford
-2
Sat Feb 20
2:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Stanford
-2
Sun Feb 21
1:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Stanford
-2
Tue Feb 23
6:00 PM
NC Dinos
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri Feb 26
7:00 PM
Indiana
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sat Feb 27
6:00 PM
Indiana
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sun Feb 28
12:00 PM
Indiana
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Wed Mar 02
6:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Arizona
-2
Fri Mar 04
4:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Texas Tech
-2
Sat Mar 05
12:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Texas Tech
Previous Next