Colon Named Semifinalist for National Award

Colon Named Semifinalist for National Award

May 13, 2009

Lubbock, Texas - Cal State Fullerton's Christian Colon was named one of 15 semifinalists for the College Baseball Foundation's Brooks Wallace Award, which honors the nation's most outstanding shortstop of the year.

Colon, a sophomore from Corona, Calif., is currently hitting .346 with seven home runs and 28 RBI. and has also produced 11 doubles, two triple, nine stolen bases and a .419 on base percentage. Colon has started 112 consecutive games at short for the nationally-ranked Titans and has already been invited to participate in this year's USA Baseball trials upon the completion of Fullerton's season.

UC Irvine's Ben Orloff also made the list of semifinalists, making the Big West, with the Big 12 and the Ohio Valley, one of three conferences with multiple honorees.

Previously, the Wallace Award was given to the national player of the year, but for the first time since the creation of the award in 2004, the award will now honor the country's finest shortstop. The change was made following the creation of the College Baseball Awards Show, in collaboration with the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and the Dick Howser Trophy Committee. The Howser Trophy has recognized the best overall player in the country for 23 years and will continue to do so.

The College Baseball Foundation, the Dick Howser Committee and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association will announce the recipients of the 2009 college baseball awards as well as the Dick Howser Trophy finalists on June 13 in Omaha, Neb. This will lead in to a great week of college baseball at the 2009 NCAA College World Series.

The Brooks Wallace Award officially will be presented on July 2 in Lubbock as part of the College Baseball Awards Show, which will recognize the top players in college baseball as part of the College Baseball Foundation's annual celebration, which also includes the National College Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. In addition to the Brooks Wallace Award, other awards presented during the show will include the Dick Howser Trophy for the national player of the year, and the National Pitcher of the Year Award.

For more information visit

15 Brooks Wallace Award Semifinalists
Ben Orloff, UC Irvine
Bryan Marquez, New Mexico St.
Bryant Hernandez, Oklahoma
Christian Colon, Cal State Fullerton
Clint Moore, Army
Derek Dietrich, Georgia Tech
DJ LeMahieu, LSU
Drew Biery, Kansas State
Drew Lee, Morehead State
Gary Helmick, Towson
Jedd Gyorko, West Virginia
Jordan Kreke, Eastern Illinois
Kyle Bellows, San Jose State
Ryan Goins, Dallas Baptist
Stephen Cardullo, Florida State


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|