Pair of Titan on Golden Spikes Watch List

Feb. 18, 2010

Durham, NC - USA Baseball announced it preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List Thursday, which includes Cal State Fullerton shortstop Christian Colon (Jr., Corona, Calif., Canyon HS) and right-handed pitcher Daniel Renken (Jr., Cypress, Calif., Orange Lutheran HS).

Former Titans Tim Wallach, Phil Nevin and Mark Kotsay have been the recipient of past Goldnen Spikes Awards honoring the nation's top collegiate baseball player.

Louisiana State leads all schools with four players named to the watch list. Texas is second with three names and Alabama, Arkansas, Cal State Fullerton, Coastal Carolina, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami (Fla.), Rice and Virginia each has two.

The SEC tops all conferences with 15 watch list players. Other leaders include the ACC with 10 athletes, the Big 12 with five, and the Big West and Conference USA with three each. Juniors dominate the list with 35 players named. Sophomores are next with nine players, with seniors having five and Harper representing the lone freshman.

On Tuesday, June 1, USA Baseball officials will cut the watch list of players to 30 names. The final list of 30 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of select professional baseball personnel, past USA Baseball National Team coaches, select members of the media, former USA Baseball sports information directors, and current USA Baseball staff - close to 150 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2010. June 1 will also mark the day when college baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite player for the Golden Spikes Award on As part of this selection process all voters will be asked to choose five players from the list of 30 names. On Tuesday, June 8, USA Baseball will announce the five finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

The 2010 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award will be presented nationally July 13 on an award show via live telecast from Anaheim on, and in conjunction with All-Star FanFest.

Past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), Tim Lincecum (2006), David Price (2007), Buster Posey (2008) and last year's winner, Stephen Strasburg.

For the complete watch list visit the official award site at


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|