USA Today/ESPN Coaches Have Titans Ranked No. 3

Jan. 29, 2010

Fullerton, Calif. - Cal State Fullerton will begin the season as the No. 3 team in the nation according the preseason USA Today/ESPN Coaches' Poll released Thursday night.

The Texas Longhorns received 18 of 31 first-place votes totaling 760 points to lead top the list in the No. 1 slot. The defending national champion LSU Tigers will start in the No. 2 spot, accumulating 10 first-place nods for a total of 720 points. The Titans received two first-place votes and totaled 671 points edging out the team that eliminated them at the 2009 College World Series, the Virginia Cavaliers (1 first-place vote, 665 pts.) who will start at No. 4.

The Titans will square off with four teams in the USA Today/ESPN Top 25 (No. 7 UC Irvine, No. 8 Arizona St., No. 12 TCU and No. 23 San Diego) as well as five teams that received votes (Arizona, Pepperdine, Fresno State, Long Beach State and Cal Poly).

The Titans are the expected to win the Big West Conference according to the nine league head coaches and have already been ranked No. 4 in the nation by the two oldest pollsters, Collegiate Baseball and Baseball America.

The USA Today/ESPN Coaches' Poll will release its first regular season poll on Mar. 1.

For capsules on each of the teams in the preseason Top 25, visit the USA Today site by clicking here.

The USA TODAY/ESPN Board of Coaches is made up of 31 coaches at Division I institutions. All are members of the American Baseball Coaches Association. The board for the 2010 season: Terry Alexander, Jacksonville; John Anderson, Minnesota; Ed Blankmeyer, St. John's; Rob Cooper, Wright State; Sherman Corbett, Texas-San Antonio; Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt; David Eldredge, Southern Utah; Mike Gaski, North Carolina-Greensboro; Nino Giarratano, San Francisco; Gary Gilmore, Coastal Carolina; Keith Guttin, Missouri State; Danny Hall, Georgia Tech; Daniel Heefner, Dallas Baptist; Loren Hibbs, Charlotte; Charlie Hickey, Central Connecticut State; George Horton, Oregon; Steve Jaksa, Central Michigan; Omar Johnson, Jackson State; Rick Jones, Tulane; Steve Kittrell, South Alabama; Paul Kostacopoulos, Navy; Kevin Leighton, Manhattan; Gary McClure, Austin Peay; Mervyl Melendez, Bethune-Cookman; Gary Powers, Nevada; Mark Scalf, North Carolina-Wilmington; Jim Schlossnagle, TCU; Matt Senk, Stony Brook; Doug Smith, UC-Riverside; Steve Smith, Baylor; Bob Whalen, Dartmouth.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|