Serrano to Compete in ESPN Zone's 'NCAA Baseball Coaches Cook-Off'


Jan. 16, 2009

Anaheim, Calif. - Cal State Fullerton Head Coach Dave Serrano and eight other college baseball coaches will trade their ball caps for chef hats Saturday, Jan. 24 at the ESPN Zone in the Downtown Disney District as they compete in the `NCAA Baseball Coaches Cook-Off.'

Joining Serrano in the "Iron Chef" style competition will be USC's Chad Kreuter, Long Beach State's Mike Weathers, Cal State Northridge's Steve Rousey, LMU's Jason Gill, Pepperdine's Steve Rodriguez, UC Irvine's Mike Gillespie, San Diego's Rich Hill and UC Santa Barbara's Bob Brontsema.

The Southern California coaches will each team with an ESPN Zone chef to prepare an entrée in a 20-minute timeframe and then present their creation to a panel of judges. The dishes will be graded on presentation, creativity and taste.

Along with the always-important bragging rights, coaches will be vying for top honors in all three of the categories as well as the "Top Chef" billing for the best overall score.

To root on Coach Serrano as he shows off his knife and plating skills, head out to the ESPN Zone located in the Downtown Disney District at 1545 Disneyland Dr. in Anaheim. The competition will go from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. Pacific Time.

ATHLETICS TICKETS

For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|

Schedule Click For Full Schedule

Total Slides 2 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 5

-2
Fri Feb 19
6:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Stanford
-2
Sat Feb 20
2:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Stanford
-2
Sun Feb 21
1:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Stanford
-2
Tue Feb 23
6:00 PM
NC Dinos
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri Feb 26
7:00 PM
Indiana
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sat Feb 27
6:00 PM
Indiana
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sun Feb 28
12:00 PM
Indiana
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Wed Mar 02
6:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Arizona
-2
Fri Mar 04
4:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Texas Tech
-2
Sat Mar 05
12:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Texas Tech
Previous Next