Titans Travel to Stillwater for 36th Postseason Appearance

Titans Travel to Stillwater for 36th Postseason Appearance

Stillwater Regional Ticket Information
Interactive Bracket | Bracket (PDF) | Regional Scoreboard

INDIANAPOLIS - Cal State Fullerton will travel to the Stillwater Regional hosted by Oklahoma State for the 68th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, it was announced by the Division I Baseball Committee on Monday.

The third seed in the four-team Regional, Fullerton will play the bracket's second seed, Nebraska, at 10 a.m. PT on Friday with the game televised on ESPNU. The Regional's No. 1 seed is Oklahoma State, and the Cowboys will play No. 4 seed Binghamton at 4 pm PT on ESPN3.

The Stillwater Regional is paired with the Corvallis Regional, which is home to the overall No. 1 seed Oregon State, UNLV, UC Irvine and North Dakota State.

Nebraska completed the 2014 season with a record of 40-19 as well as a record of 18-6 in the Big Ten. On Sunday, the Cornhuskers suffered an 8-4 loss to Indiana in the Big Ten Tournament title game.

In six games against Nebraska dating back to 1984, the Titans are undefeated against the Cornhuskers, including four wins against Nebraska in 2013. Nebraska and Fullerton played one another once in the postseason with Fullerton recording a 5-4 victory at the College World Series on June 8, 2001.

Darin Erstad in in his third season as a head coach at Nebraska, and on his staff is former Titan Ted Silva. Silva served as an assistant coach with the Titans (2005-2006), helping CSF to the 2006 College World Series when Fullerton produced an NCAA-best 2.73 ERA. Silva also played three seasons for the Titans from 1993-95, helping Fullerton to its third national championship during his junior year. An All-American, Silva led the nation in victories in 1995, posting an 18-1 overall record with a 2.83 ERA and 142 strikeouts in 152 2/3 innings.

Oklahoma State completed its season with a record of 45-16 as well as an 18-6 mark in the Big 12. On Sunday, the Cowboys' run at the Big 12 Baseball Championship fell short of a title as the top-seeded Cowboys dropped a 7-1 contest to second-seeded TCU in the championship game at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark.

Oklahoma State holds a 4-3 all-time record against Cal State Fullerton with the last meeting in 2009 as the Cowboys and Titans split a pair of games in Stillwater. Fullerton visited Stillwater, Okla., for postseason play in 1994, emerging as the Regional winner with a record of 4-1, including a 10-inning, 6-5, victory over Oklahoma State in the Regional final.

The 2014 Stillwater Regional will mark the 11th OSU has hosted at Allie P. Reynolds Stadium and the first since 2008. The Cowboys are 33-11 all time in Regional play on their current home field and have won six Regional titles, the last coming in 1993.

Fullerton and Binghamton have not played one another before. The Bearcats (25-25) have won back-to-back America East titles.

Each of 16 NCAA Regionals features a four-team, double-elimination format.

The Titans (32-22, 14-10 Big West) ended the year fourth in the Big West Conference standings, and were in jeopardy of missing the postseason before ending the regular season on a seven-game winning streak, the team's longest of the year.

Fullerton's postseason push included a road series sweep of UC Irvine (May 16-18) which drove the team's RPI up 31 spots. The Titans ended the year with a three-game sweep of Cal State Northridge, and Fullerton has won 10 of its last 12 games, outscoring opponents 67-21 during that stretch.

Fullerton has made 36 NCAA appearances in its 40 years at the Division I level, and the current string of 23 consecutive appearances is third longest in the nation behind Miami (42) and Florida State (37).

The Titans boast a record of 144-76 in the postseason, including a record of 94-39 in Regional action.

Since 1999, with the addition of the Super Regional format, Fullerton holds a record of 42-12 in Regional play, winning 11 Regional brackets in 15 appearances. The Titans have never gone winless in Regional play.

Overall, Fullerton has won 20 Regional titles - including a national-best 11 on the road (two each in Fresno and Baton Rouge and one each at USC, Austin, Starkville, Stillwater, South Bend, Tempe and San Diego).

In 2013, Fullerton finished its Regional bracket with a record of 3-0 recording wins over Columbia and Arizona State (twice), with the advantage of hosting at Goodwin Field. The Titans advanced to the Fullerton Super Regional, and lost back-to-back games to eventual 2013 College World Series champion UCLA.

Fullerton last traveled for regional play in 2012 as the No. 2 seed at the Eugene Regional hosted by the University of Oregon. The Titans finished the bracket 1-2 with losses to Oregon and Austin Peay.

In 2007, Cal State Fullerton traveled to San Diego as the No. 2 seed at the San Diego Regional held at Tony Gwynn Stadium. Fullerton opened play with a 7-1 victory over Minnesota and went on to defeat the bracket's fourth seed, Fresno State, 6-4. Fullerton won the San Diego Regional with a 13-2 victory over the Bulldogs in the final. The Titans went on to sweep UCLA in the Fullerton Super Regional to advance to the College World Series. The Titans left the CWS winless falling to Oregon State, 3-2, and UC Irvine, 5-4, in 13 innings.

The last time Fullerton entered the NCAA Tournament lower than a No. 1 or No. 2 seed in its respective bracket was 2002. The Titans traveled to the Palo Alto Regional hosted by Stanford at Sunken Diamond and as the No. 4 seed, opened the tournament with a 3-2 loss to the Cardinal in 13 innings. Fullerton stayed alive with a 9-1 victory over San Jose State, before being eliminated in a 4-0 loss to Long Beach State.

The national top eight seeds in this year's tournament include Oregon State (42-12), Florida (40-21), Virginia (44-13), Indiana (42-13), Florida State (43-15), La.-Lafayette (53-7), TCU (42-15) and LSU (44-14-1). The top eight seed for Indiana marks a first for a Big Ten institution.

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with 10, the most for a single conference in the history of the tournament. The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) has seven institutions, while the Big 12 and Pac-12 Conference each have five selected. Cal Poly, Long Beach State, UC Irvine and Cal State Fullerton represent the Big West Conference.

Making the tournament for the first time includes Kennesaw State of the Atlantic Sun Conference and Sacramento State of the Western Athletic Conference. Overall, 32 of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Miami (Fla.) is in the field for the 42nd consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 37th consecutive appearance, second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (23), Rice (20) and South Carolina (15).

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from May 30 to June 2 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on ncaa.com on June 2 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.

The 68th Men's College World Series begins play June 14, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

There are 31 Division I conferences which received an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 33 at-large selections.



For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|