Lorenzen Named John Olerud Award Finalist

Lorenzen Named John Olerud Award Finalist

College Baseball Hall of Fame

LUBBOCK, Texas – Cal State Fullerton center fielder and closer Michael Lorenzen was named one of three finalists for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award, it was announced by the organization on Saturday.

This year's finalists also include Mike Ford of Princeton and Marco Gonzales of Gonzaga.

Lorenzen, a 38th overall selection by the Cincinnati Reds in the 2013 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft, was selected as a first team All-American by both Baseball America and the NCBWA.

The honors add to an already long list for Lorenzen, who was named a 2013 Louisville Slugger First Team All-American, a Golden Spikes Award semifinalist, a Big West Conference first team selection and one of five finalists for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award.

The native of Anaheim, Calif., is a three-time All-American at Cal State Fullerton.

On the hill, Lorenzen totaled 35 saves in just two years on the mound, breaking the all-time Fullerton record.

Lorenzen finished the 2013 campaign 19-for-22 in save attempts, but in three blown save opportunities, kept the Titans within reach to record the win (3-0).

In 22 appearances this year, Lorenzen tossed 22 and 2/3 innings, striking out 20 and managing a 1.99 ERA while holding opposing batters to a .205 clip.

At the plate, Lorenzen hit .335 with a Big West-leading 54 RBIs while managing a .515 slugging percentage, with 40 runs scored, 76 hits, 12 doubles, four triples and a team-leading seven home runs.

Lorenzen totaled 21 multiple-hit games and 12 multiple-RBI games.

On April 12, 2013, Lorenzen blew his first save in the last 17 opportunities, ending a streak of 16 straight that dated back to May 1, 2012.

The winner of the John Olerud Award will be named on June 29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of College Baseball's Night of Champions. The event also features the announcement of the winners of the National Pitcher of the Year and Brooks Wallace Award. The Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy are also presented, as well as the 2013 National College Baseball Hall of Fame inductions.

Ford, the Ivy League Player of the Year, batted .320 with six home runs and 38 RBI. On the mound he finished 6-0 with a 0.98 ERA. He was a three-time All-Ivy selection and was a semifinalist for the Gregg Olson Award.

Gonzales, the first-round pick of the St. Louis Cardinals, led Gonzaga with 106 innings pitched and finished 7-3 with a 2.80 ERA. At the plate he led the Zags with a .311 batting average. For his efforts he was named West Coast Conference Co-Player of the Year.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|